Picture Perfect

Today is picture day at school for my 9-year-old princess. A week ago, she had put a request for me to straighten her hair for this event, so last night, I did.  After I was done blow drying her hair she ran to the mirror to look at herself and play with her silky hair. She would run her fingers through it while mumbling some words to herself. She was completely oblivious to my presence so I stayed quiet and just took it all in.

As I saw my princess contemplating herself in the mirror I couldn’t help but wonder- during her journey through womanhood, what will my princess see every time she looks in the mirror? Will she just see curly hair or will she see possibilities? Will she see skin color or will she see her humanity? Will she see a dreamer or will she see her limitations? Will she see a broken heart or will she know she deserves better? Will she see her accomplishments or just her failures? Will she see both?

Will she see vulnerability or will she see weakness? How about her beauty, will she see that? The beauty that is beyond hair, lipstick and blush…the one inside, deep inside her soul. Will she see mercy? Mercy for her, mercy for others. Will she see her mistakes to learn from them or will she see regret? Will she see her value, her worthiness or will she see her flaws?  Will she see a mother, though not perfect, a loving mother or will she see unreached expectations and demands?

Will she see her wrinkles as time wasted or will she see them as a testament of wisdom, strength and perseverance? Will she see what I see? Will she see LOVE?

I don’t know what it will be, all I can do is trust that her soul is kept pure and I’ll enjoy today because today she looks picture perfect.

One thing I know though, I can do a mean blow out 🙂

And on that note, CHEERS!

Til next time,

Cynthia

Tagged , ,

9 thoughts on “Picture Perfect

  1. eof737 says:

    You daughter is beautiful and she will thrive… You sure do a mean blow out though. 🙂

  2. You sure can do a mean blow out! I still haven’t mastered that skill. As for your daughter, she looks absolutely beautiful. I am quite certain that with a mother like you, she will able to see what she is really worth, both inside and out.

    • Cynthia Matos-Medina says:

      Thank you so much. Your words give me hope. A mother like me…that why I must pray hard 😉

  3. Judy Foster says:

    When did become so grown up?? She’s stunning! Love, love, love this blog. And yes, your blow out is flawless.

  4. Priscilla says:

    I agree. She’s perfect!

Comments are closed.