Chicken Soup Kind Of Day

This morning, while the kids were getting ready for school, I turned on the TV to hear the weather forecast.  “Yay, a storm is coming.  Mommy,  is going to rain!” my son shouts, and to that my daughter replies “I guess is a chicken soup kind of day.”

By that comment you might have assumed that I like to make chicken soup when it rains.  Well, you are absolutely right. There is something comforting about chicken soup on a rainy day. It warms you up and it soothes your soul. That made me think of a conversation I had with my friend, “wise woman”.  We talked about the importance of taking time for ourselves in the middle of the week to, for a lack of better word, recharge.  I need to make that  a regular practice in my week. I need to find time to have some “chicken soup” – anything that can make me relax and that would feed my soul – because if I really think about it, I deserve it.

Today  is a chicken soup day for me. The plan is to finish homework and then have  daddy take care of the rest of the night. Mommy is going to snuggle on her couch with her Brene Brown’s book “The Gifts of Imperfection” and a crisp glass of Pinot Noir.  That’s after my bowl of chicken soup, of course. 😉

What can you do for “chicken soup” in the middle of your week?

til next time,

Cynthia

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Chicken Soup Kind Of Day

  1. Judy Foster says:

    My youngest made our family soup. I video taped her explaining the recipe step by step as she chopped, stirred, seasoned and cooked. I indulged in my proud accomplishment of my self sufficient child. We enjoyed her loving expression in a meal. Nothing better than a cold day and a bowl of love.

    My soul is filled to the brim 🙂

  2. Hope you enjoyed your “chicken soup,” your time to decompress. Good reminder for all of us. Sometimes we really do need to kick up our feet and just relax.

    • Cynthia Matos-Medina says:

      Oh yes I did. I could hear my husband trying to get them in bed – hehehe. I really enjoyed my “chicken soup”. Hope you had good night too 😉

Comments are closed.

