M.I.T. Bound and The Cellist

Laundry, dinner, school tours and THE CELLO. Yes, that’s exactly how my day looked like yesterday. All morning was dedicated to the five loads of laundry that needed to be folded with the intermittent interruption of that question that hunts me every single day without fail, “What the heck am I going to cook for dinner?”. You would think I have it down with the menu and all, but I don’t. Every day is the same issue. I like to cook, that’s not the problem, the issue is stipulating a menu every day. I tried having a dinner schedule where every monday is italian, Tuesday is mexican etc. That got old real quick. Anyway, I normally come up with the menu while strolling the aisles at Wholefoods or Trader Joe’s. By the time I folded the last t-shirt it was time to fly out of the house and do my market run.

Picked up the kids and ran home for them to have a snack and start homework before heading out again to another middle school tour. Yes, another middle school tour. I feel as if we were applying for colleges and this is only middle school. What’s going to happen for highschool?
The neighborhood middle school is a good one with great small learning communities. My son is interested in two of those small communities so hopefully he can get in but, if not, I want to have as many options as possible. All he needs is a good math, science and technology program, that’s all! Well… the kid is M.I.T. Bound (Massachusetts Institute of Technology). 🙂

This particular tour took two and a half hours and all I was thinking was, “Did I turn off the stove?” For whatever reason I knew I did but the question kept coming back to my head just to torture me. We made it home, the stove was off and house was still standing :). Kids went back to their homework and I went back to cooking dinner. Camila finished her assignments first and grabbed THE CELLO. Still not good but hey, she needs to practice, if she could only do that far away from here…But no, she wants mama to hear her play. So here I was trying to make out of my concoction an eatable dish while listening to the cellist of the family. After a few minutes of the humming giant, I came to the realization that it could have been a lot worst, I could have ran out of wine 😛

Til next time,

Cynthia

Tagged , , ,

10 thoughts on “M.I.T. Bound and The Cellist

  1. eof737 says:

    I had a good laugh on this one… 😆

  2. Vinny Grette says:

    My daughter played the cello in school and she turned out fine 🙂

  3. Terri says:

    Ha!!!!!!!! Lol lol lol!!!!! So freakin funny!!

  4. I feel like laundry is never ending!

  5. Love it Cynthia! You’re always smiling your way through all the busyness. The nagging thought about leaving the oven on has happened to me before too. Fortunately, that wasn’t the case for you. So, what’s cooking in there? What’s for dinner?

    • Cynthia Matos-Medina says:

      It’s the only way I don’t loose my mind. 🙂
      Today I cooked a pot roast…with lots of wine 😛
      xoxo

Comments are closed.

