It’s Only Fifth Grade…

Today I woke up feeling overwhelmed by fifth grade. At the beginning of last month I decided, after a few therapy sessions, to ease up on my boy.  I told him that he needed to take charge of his school work and that I was there for him if he needed me, but I was not going to babysit him as far as homework. Well, yesterday I got the “point letter”. The point letter is a monthly report fifth grade parents at our school get, explaining how many points your child lost during the month and how many points he/she got left. Kids start with 100 points every month and should try to keep at least 85. This is a way to teach them responsibility, make them accountable in qualifying for their fifth grade trip to Washington DC, and to drive parents into insanity. Points are taken off when they miss assignments, or forget to turn something in, or when talking too much in class etc. His point letter didn’t look good. He had misplaced some papers, or forgotten his binder at school or whatever. The issue is, his point letter didn’t look good and that took me on a spiral down. I felt it was my fault for easing up on him. I felt like as if those were my points. I felt it was a reflection of something I did wrong.

Thank God for therapy! A few weeks ago I scheduled my therapy session for today. I guess God knew I was going to need it this particular Thursday. In therapy I brought up the reason I was feeling down and went on to explain the whole point letter thing. My therapist looked at me and with that particular therapist’s smile and tone of voice said to me “Oh Cynthia why are you sweating the small stuff?”. “Small stuff? Did she just say that?” I thought. She continued to say ” fifth grade is not important to get into college, if he is loosing points he will figure it out. The important thing is that he learns what he needs to learn in fifth grade and that’s all” as she is telling me this I’m feeling weight being lifted off my shoulders. I knew this, why couldn’t I see it? Well, a lot has to do with the way I was raised and the high expectations I place on myself on a daily basis. She went on to teach me a relaxation exercise so I can use throughout the day.  She told me to close my eyes, take a deep breath…imagine I was on a vacation…smell the ocean…feel the breeze…and right when this was getting relaxing my stomach growls so loud that I had no choice but to burst into a big laugh. I went out of therapy feeling so much better and straight to eat lunch 🙂

I learned not sweat the small stuff, that I need to learn to relax and make sure I eat something before therapy. As per my boy, he will be fine. It’s only fifth grade.  So for now I’ll pour some relaxation into my glass while I meditate on what I learned today 😉

til next time,

Cynthia

Tagged , , ,

11 thoughts on “It’s Only Fifth Grade…

  1. gourmandchic says:

    I have a four year old daughter and yesterday the teacher told me she was not holding her pencil the correct way whilst all the other kids have been corrected. I was to spend more time to teach her how to hold her pencil properly. It made me feel bad that I didn’t notice and worse that the teacher brought up all the other kids had it down. I felt pretty low for awhile and then it hit me…she is four. Why are they being so strict these days at such an early age!!!

    • Cynthia Matos-Medina says:

      Because is a shame game they play on the parent so they don’t do their job. Don’t allow them to shame you. She is only four little years. She is supposed to play and have fun. Please, girlie, don’t let them get to you. Be resilient to their shame filled comments. You are a wonderful mom and your baby is lucky to have you as her mama 😉
      Xoxo

      • gourmandchic says:

        Very true. Thank you so much for your encouraging words and support. I really do as much as I can for her and you are right. I should not let them get to me!!! I shall stand strong.

  2. eof737 says:

    I always say this too shall pass… and it will. 😉
    Thank you for checking in during the Hurricane… your kind wishes were appreciated!

  3. B. L. Crisp says:

    I would tell the school to bugger off with their point’s system. I am sure your son is learning enough about responsibility at home. My son recently started year 3 and the homework load was astronomical. He did it with our support, after the term finished I wrote a letter to the school simply stating that the homework was not creative enough, wasn’t intuned to my son as an individual, and that doing too much homework interfers with our own home-study schedule, which we find to be more appropriate to a holistic wellbeing and knowledge obtainment lifestyle that they are living.

    • Cynthia Matos-Medina says:

      I agree with you 100%. Three hours of homework is unnecessary. This whole point thing is also a nightmare that is adding stress on my child. You are right, I’ll have a meeting about it. Thank you so much.

      • B. L. Crisp says:

        Pleasure. Definitely have a meeting about it. Schools rarely care or have the time to care about individual students… they are more concerned with there score as a whole, and as such push student’s into an long outdated IQ rating. The whole idea is so backward… society is has changed and life evolves around us so quickly… parents have to craft their own learning even if it means doing battle against our schools. I’d rather my son play outside in his local park amongst the trees than doing three hours homework… Besides, how graduates in the past decade have left university and actually got a job? Goodluck 🙂

  4. I know I wasn’t in the therapy session with you. But it seems as if that sunshine and relaxation transferred onto me by reading this post. So much of life is really about perspective. As for your boy, I quite convinced he will be FINE! Mommies like us just need to take it down a notch and trust that everything will be okay. 🙂

    • Cynthia Matos-Medina says:

      Is learning to have that balance. It’s so hard but it’s a journey. So good to read from you 😉 xoxo

  5. Terri says:

    I can totally relate! Just try and relax…. I know just what you are feeling!!! Thanks for sharing
    Xo
    T

    • Cynthia Matos-Medina says:

      Thank you for reading. I’m glad I’m talking about it because Now I know I’m not the only one.
      Love you girlie,
      xoxo

Comments are closed.

