I Dig It

I don’t know what’s going on with me but lately I have been thinking, more often than not, about every connection I make. I’m at a point in my life where I feel a sense of urgency. I feel as if I was running out of time and needed to make every minute count. Is a “don’t waste your time on what’s not important”  kind of thing.

It’s been interesting in a way because now I find myself reflecting on every smile I give or get and every word exchange.  I have become aware of meaningful connections.
Questions like, “why did I meet this person? Why did this person come into my life? Am I suppose to fulfill a purpose in this person’s life?”
I mean, what’s going on?
I didn’t want to link these feelings to the quickly approaching 40’s, just because I didn’t want to go there.  Maybe I’m getting older after all! Didn’t see that one coming 🙂

When I spoke with my therapist about what I was feeling she said that, considering this particular chronological time in my life, it sounded as if I was in or about to go through what she calls “transition period”, which some people also refer to as “midlife crisis.”  “But I thought midlife crisis was about getting the red corvette and wanting to be twenty again” I said.  She went on to explain what transition period is and how it is different for everybody.
Who knew, midlife crisis or “transition period” could actually be good. I’m trying to make each minute I’m in contact with someone count.  If that’s what my midlife crisis is about, then I dig it 😉 CHEERS!
til next time,
Cynthia
Tagged , , ,

8 thoughts on “I Dig It

  1. wildinvirginia says:

    Pa ha ha …. it is SO bout approaching 40!!!! Been there lol Oh, and do not, DO NOT buy the car. I guarantee, this crossroads/transitions/reflective mode will end in a) All material statements about me are offensive and irrelevant and how dare the world be so shallow and judge me this way, soon to be followed by b) Holy crap, I have insufficient material wealth to protect my future and that of the kids, how can I amass more of it? And not spend it on sports cars …which really sucks because I am actually only 20 in my head and should be wearing hot pants and halter tops and driving a ‘vette.

    I am approaching 43 and am waiting for c). I’ll let you know when it hits but I’m really hoping it’s going to involve a camper van and my in-laws telling me that as I have taken to driving a camper van (it’ll be so pretty!), they’ve set up a college fund for my Bug and I’m out of the Will. Sounds good to me …. and will leave me plenty of time to sit outside my pretty pink and turquoise camper writing on my tablet (I don’t have a tablet), musing reflectively on these crossroads, connections and other trains of hippy-like thought 🙂 I’ll let you know where I’m parked in case your road crosses mine and we can reinvent the 40 factor together with our spiritually enlightened children playing nearby . Yeah right, in the nearby McDonald’s or Hot Topic more like 😦

    • Cynthia Matos-Medina says:

      HaHaHaHaHa! You have me dying here!!!! You are so funny yet all you say is true. I’ll probably be driving a purple one so we both could meet and enjoy the outdoors while writing on our tables. LOL. I love it!!! Xoxo

      Sent from my iPhone

      • wildinvirginia says:

        Awesome…. something tells me we wouldn’t get much writing done lol Sounds like a fantastic plan…if you’re ever traversing the mountains of S.W Virginia, give me a yell 🙂

  2. I love this post! I feel like I am at similar crossroads in my life too. Reflecting on every connection, every word spoken to and from one another. Maybe this self awareness comes with age. Perhaps we’ve come to terms with the fact that “we don’t know it all” and we can turn to others to learn. Like you said, “if this is a midlife crisis, then I dig it!” I”ll raise a glass to that! Have a great evening Cynthia. 🙂

  3. sagine says:

    As your new friend!!! I agree and agree!!! Transition is good it lets us move to the next chapter of fabulous and now we can get there together!!!! Ride Sally Ride!!!

    • Cynthia Matos-Medina says:

      I so thought of you as I wrote. Yes, we are in this together baby. So glad I met you. Xoxoxoxo

  4. lkrubino says:

    Awesome! Now go out and buy yourself a fast red car! 😉

    • Cynthia Matos-Medina says:

      I should, right? 🙂
      Hope you are feeling better. Following you every step of the way 😉
      Xoxo

Comments are closed.

