Cynthia’s Voyage

For the pass two weeks, I have been buried under a mountain of Wikipedia  print outs, drawings and books. I have been working on a social studies project about the great explorers.  The explorer I worked on was Ferdinand Magellan.
I learned that he was born in Portugal and by the time he was ten his parents had died. I learned that he studied previous explorers like Christopher Columbus and wanted to be one himself. I learned he served his country by fighting in battles in other places and actually got hurt and had a permanent limp. Don’t ask me why this limping information is important, it’s in the books 🙂
I learned that he moved to Spain to follow his dream of circumnavigating the world.  I learned he was a key piece in the future of world exploration. I mean,  I learned about this dude all there is to learn.
Magellan’s life was short but significant. To this day, we are still reaping  the fruit of his journey. I couldn’t help but ask myself these questions; what will be said about me when I’m gone?  How will I be remembered? In what way will I have influenced the world? I don’t have the answer to these questions all I can do is work hard at what I believe I have been called to do.
I sure learned about Magellan, the question is, did my son? It was his project 😉 Cheers!

Til next time,

Cynthia

Tagged , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Cynthia’s Voyage

  1. So, that’s where you’ve been? Buried in books about Magellan. Sounds like your son wasn’t the only one who was inspired by this explorer. His mom and her blogger friends were too. I love the idea of seeing life as a journey. And I truly believe that we are all created for a VERY specific purpose. It’s just a matter of navigating our course. Finding our way so to speak. Sometimes were in alignment, sometimes were not. Fortunately, we have a spiritual compass to guide us. Great to see you up and running again, Cynthia! 🙂

    • Cynthia Matos-Medina says:

      Anka! I’ve missed you.
      I have been so busy with this project, but thank The Lord is over. XOxO

  2. wildinvirginia says:

    Ha ha ha … so funny, I stupidly assumed you were studying (and cheating, Wiki indeed), and then finally caught on it was your sons homework (Wiki just fine then) … I’m jetlagged! Hope you shared some of this wisdom…especially that vital limp fact (maybe a cursory nod to disability awareness or triumph in the face of adversity?)….with your son and that you get a good grade. You get half the ice cream.

    The “What will people make of me?” Question is a fantastic project ….maybe you could start a Wiki of your own, who do you think you are, what have you achieved, what are you working on? Then ask people who know you to contribute. Just, for the love of God, retain strict editorial rights! I’d love to read that … I won’t be doing one tho but it’s a fantastic thought. Inspiring again…so glad to be back in your wake. Oh and I mean the following you kind, not the when you’re gone kind. Man, jetlag sucks!!!!!!

    • Cynthia Matos-Medina says:

      You are always so delightful 🙂 I love reading from you. What a great idea, I think it would be a very funny read. Take care and try to rest 😉 xoxo

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. mango1531 says:

    Good question- to think about how we’ll be remembered after we’re gone, I hope it’s half as good as some special people I can think of that have gone before me

    • Cynthia Matos-Medina says:

      I know that’s true for me.
      I’m sure my kids will remember me and say “man, mom was crazy. Do you remember when she…” lol

Comments are closed.

