Arriba, Arriba!

Google image

Google image

Today was the first day back to school after winter break. Three weeks of sleeping in until whatever time, no tennis practice, dinning out almost every night and going to bed whenever our eyes gave up.  Parties almost every weekend and all the food and drinks that come with them. It was great just to be off the routine for a bit.  I didn’t post on my blog for a month, believe me, I wanted to.  But as much as I tried, I just didn’t have the creative juice flowing.  A lot of it had to do with the tragedy we suffered as a country that grey unforgettable Friday morning. That event took away all my focus and creativity for a while. How could I be funny? What could I possibly write about when so many families were experiencing the most unimaginable tragedy? I decided to respect and be quiet.

Today I’m back, back in every aspect. Back to waking up at 6 am, back to morning madness, to working out, to picking up around the house. Back to tennis practice and crazy homework time, back to songwriting and back to my blog. Yes I’m back. So much so that this morning I had no problem waking up. It was easy getting the kids out of bed and ready.  Made breakfast and lunches and they were at school by 7:40 am. I came back home and got on Speedy González mode. I went into my daughter’s room and started to organize her closet, then her drawers and then her desk. Dressed all her naked dolls with all the doll clothes that were spread all over her room and the amount of trash I gathered was unbelievable. I mean how is it possible for a 9 year old girl to accumulate so much garbage? Anyway, I finished her room and then cleaned a bathroom and to my surprise when I looked at the clock it was only 8:45 am. It feels like I had been hibernating for three weeks and I finally woke up today.

So here is to a great year, a year of action and growth. A year where we’ll use our voices to make things better. A year of no excuses and no regrets. A year that we can look back on and see the great difference we made just by doing our part.  Life is way too short so let’s live it wisely.

As for Speedy Gonzalez, he got nothing on me.  Arriba, Arriba!  Cheers!!!

Til next time,

Cynthia

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Arriba, Arriba!

  1. wildinvirginia says:

    Whoah there Speedy, you’ve exhausted and shamed me all in a couple of frenzied hours lol! I so need to get back into the swing and there’s a very real danger of you galvanizing me!

    I’ve missed your posts and have also missed posting … for exactly the same reasons. I absolutely applaud your approach, and your plan for the New Year. Like you, I could only respond to ‘that’ event and the others we all sat and watched unfold, feeling helpless, with a sense that something has to change and it has to change with us. I’m not talking groundswelling political action or social movements, just a determination to alter my own world and my teeny tiny pool of influence for the better. I have an absolute belief it we all just behave better, we may not halt atrocities but we can improve our own tiny corner.

    I’m so glad you mentioned your reason for not posting, I’d noticed quite a few of us ‘laugh at the chaos and enjoy the chaos that is our kids’ bloggers have been AWOL, and you confirmed my suscpicions. Thanks for yet again, just taking a long and complicated issue and giving us a way back. I’ve missed you and your brand of crazy … I feel better already that you’re back and look forward to jumping back in too.

    Oh, and I ;!”- you have some blog-worthy holiday tales to tell … maybe you could let us in on a few? When you’ve finished playinng dress up with your ddaughter’s dollies that is lol

    Happy New Year sweet lady 🙂

    • Cynthia Matos-Medina says:

      Hi!!!
      So good to hear (read) from you 😉
      I have some tales to tell, I don’t know how happy Santa will be after I tell lol
      Come back, I miss you too 😉

      • wildinvirginia says:

        I will 🙂 And don’t worry, I hear Santa’s still chilling in the Ladives and the naughty/nice list doesn’t get going ’til February 🙂

Comments are closed.

