They Know, Trust Me.

The Ones that drive me crazy but I love them more than life

The Ones that drive me crazy but I love them more than life

As you know by now, I have been blessed with two kids. I have a hormonally flatulent 9 year old beautiful daughter and an imperfection intolerant handsome 10 (soon to be 11) year old son. They are very close in age, seventeen months apart to be exact. I know what you’re thinking “who does that?”, well it was not the plan but I’m glad it worked out the way it did.
Deep inside of me, really deep, I believe my kids love each other. I would like to think the endless arguing that lives in the car, dinner table and everywhere they coexist, is just a front. I don’t think they want to show us the love they feel for each other. Yeah right!
From the moment they wake up to the moment they go to sleep, they are arguing. It’s the worst thing to experience. It’s a situation that is driving me to unthinkable measures. There are moments when I really think I can end up in a mental institution, or at least they think that because of how I react to their arguing.
I’ve tried everything. I’ve tried “the hippie mom method”, you know, whispering voice, smiling and letting them be the natural beings that they are. Peace and love and heck!…it doesn’t work. They get me out of Zen two seconds in.
I’ve tried “the iron mom method”, this one is where you ignore them no matter what’s going on. Nothing makes you flinch. You are as cool as ice. You see no evil, you hear no evil. Couldn’t do it. How can I ignore the fact that they are hitting each other, one can easily make the other bleed and then I would have to clean up the mess.
I’ve tried “The drama queen method” where I just scream in a very dramatic way, in the middle of them arguing: “Oh No, what did I ever do to deserve this pain. My children don’t love each other. There is nothing more painful for a parent than to see her kids fight and argue. Guys please stop this because I don’t think my heart can take it.” Couldn’t keep it up for too long. They know that before they kill me, I’ll…they know, trust me.
I’m currently using “The crazy, lunatic, mentally unstable mom method”. Say we are in the car and they start their annoyance, I wait and wait and wait and then all of a sudden I scream OMG!!!!!! STOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOP!!! Sometimes I stop the car and tell them to get out (not that I would let them, but…). Sometimes I just scream one of their names in the same manner and that’s been getting their attention. They get a little nervous because they know, oh they know, trust me. They know their old school, raised in the islands, Dominican mama is crazy and she will always get her way. So until this method fails I will continue and then it will be on to the next one. But until then, lord have Mercy on THEIR souls, CHEERS!

Til next time,
Cynthia

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “They Know, Trust Me.

  1. wildinvirginia says:

    Lol, sooo familiar 🙂 My eldest (not older) brother is 13 months younger than me and growing up the terms Cats and Dogs and Chalk and Cheese were almost quoted as much as “You’ll be best friends when you grow up”. Nope lol Better though. Funny thing … the only time we were united was against the common enemy…most often Mum. Oh and we did actually hatch a plan to make her think she WAS crazy. Hiding stuff, pouring her tea away and telling her she’d drank it, unmaking the bed she’d just made, moving the car. We were horrible! So, when it comes to unity, be careful what you wish for 🙂 Remember, divide and conquer lol

    • Cynthia Matos-Medina says:

      Terrible! Hahahaha I can totally forward see my kids planning my mental breakdown hahahaha.
      And yes, I’m constantly telling them that they will be best friends when they grow up. I’m saying everything my parents used to tell me lol

  2. gavmomof2 says:

    Parenting skills are all over the place these days. I believe you need to be yourself and just take advantage of your wonderful lungs. I’m Spanish, and well…. let’s just say my lungs have a two block radius when needed. It’s good 🙂 It’s part of who we are, embrace it. I taught Spanish a few years ago. Now, when kids realize I’m their friend’s mom, I have him ask what they remember about me (as they were in 4th grade) They remember an alphabet song I taught them and they all say something like this, “I remember your mom! She was REALLY LOUD and USED HER HANDS A LOT!” I think that’s awesome! Especially because true southern belle’s whisper and are very soft. I’m a Jersey girl from Newark – ENOUGH SAID ! lol 😉
    p.s. Your babies ADORE each other and will always be there for each other. They are just being kids (as annoying as that sounds) One day, you will wake up and they will be grown up like mine and you will wish the house wasn’t so quiet – trust me! Hang in there!

Comments are closed.

